Wednesday, August 5, 2009



Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) - CFTC was created by United States Congress in 1974 as an independent agency with the mandate to regulate commodity futures and option markets in the United States. The agency protects market participants against manipulation, abusive trade practices and fraud. Through effective oversight and regulation, the CFTC enables the markets to serve better their important functions in the nation's economy by providing a mechanism for price discovery and a means of offsetting price risk.

National Futures Association ( NFA) - NFA is a congressionally authorized self-regulatory organization for the U.S. futures industry, provides innovative regulatory programs and services that ensure futures industry integrity, protect market participants and help its Members meet their regulatory responsibilities.

Capital Markets Compliance LLC (CMC) - CMC specializes in providing regulatory guidance for firms that offer securities products as well as banks requiring market risk management reviews. Clients range from one-person retail broker-dealer operations to full-scale multi registered representative broker-dealers, investment advisers, investment bankers, bank affiliated broker-dealers, state and national chartered banks, and financial holding companies.

Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) - SEC administers federal securities laws to protect investors from fraud and abuse. Includes the EDGAR database of corporate financial filings. The primary mission of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) is to protect investors and maintain the integrity of the securities markets.


The Committee of European Securities Regulators (CESR) - CESR was established by the European Commission Decision of June 2001. CESR is an independent Committee regrouping senior representatives from national public authorities competent in the field of securities. CESR submits an Annual Report to the European Commission, which is also sent to the European Parliament and the Council.


Ministry of Finance (MOF) - The Ministry of Finance is responsible for the country's fiscal and monetary matters. It consists of the Prime Minister's secretariat and seven bureaus. In addition to formulating the national budget, which is central to fiscal policy, the MOF monitors and guides banks and securities companies as to current monetary policy, adjusts the current balance of payments, and determines and maintains what MOF considers to be an appropriate level in foreign exchange rates.

Financial Supervisory Agency (FSA) - FSA was established as an administrative organ responsible for the inspection and supervision of private sector financial institutions and surveillance of securities transaction. With the establishment of the Financial Reconstruction Commission, the FSA became an organization under the jurisdiction of the said Commission.


Financial Services Authority (FSA) - FSA is an independent non-governmental body, given statutory powers by the Financial Services and Markets Act 2000. It is a company limited by guarantee and financed by the financial services industry. The Financial Services and Markets Act gives FSA statutory objectives: market confidence: maintaining confidence in the financial system; public awareness: promoting public understanding of the financial system; consumer protection: securing the appropriate degree of protection for consumers; and reduction of financial crime.


Swiss Federal Banking Commission (SFBC) - SFBC supervisory authority of wide areas of the financial sector in Switzerland. Following are its tasks: supervision of: banks, investment funds, mortgage bond business, stock exchanges and securities dealers, disclosure of shareholdings and public takeover bids. It is in constant contact with the Swiss Federal Department of Finance and the Swiss National Bank. In addition, maintains regular contact with various associations, primarily the Swiss Bankers Association, the Swiss Funds Association and the Swiss Institute of Certified Accountants and Tax Consultants.

Money Laundering Control Authority (MLCA) - MLCA is one of the supervisory authorities responsible for implementing the Money laundering Act. It is responsible for the supervision of all financial intermediaries in the non-banking sector that are subject to the Money Laundering Act. These in particular include all those financial intermediaries who, on a professional basis, accept, or hold in custody, assets belonging to third parties, or assist in investing or transferring such assets.


Canadian Derivatives Clearing Corporation (CDDC) - CDDC is the issuer, clearinghouse, and guarantor of equity, index and interest rate financial derivative contracts traded on the Montréal Exchange. CDCC also provides clearing, settlement and administrative services to the Winnipeg Commodity Exchange and the WCE Clearing Corporation.

Other include:
Alberta Securities Commission (ASC)
British Columbia Securities Commission
Commission des valeurs mobilieres du Quebec
Manitoba Securities Commission
Ontario Securities Commission
Prince Edward Island Securities Office
Saskatchewan Financial Services Commission (SFSC)


Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC) - ASIC enforces company and financial services laws to protect consumers, investors and creditors. It regulates and informs the public about Australian companies, financial markets, financial services organisations and professionals who deal and advise in investments, superannuation, insurance, deposit taking and credit. ASIC works with other financial, consumer and law enforcement bodies in Australia and internationally. It is an independent Commonwealth government body.


Securities Commission of New Zealand (SEC) - SEC is a statutory corporation which, in all matters other than funding and the appointment of Members, is expected to act independently of the New Zealand Government and others.Its purpose is to strengthen confidence in New Zealand's capital markets, both in New Zealand and overseas, by promoting the efficiency, integrity and cost-effective regulation of these markets and thereby fostering capital investment in New Zealand.

Source :

Custom Search